Alamo Squadron of IPMS/USA was formed in 1977.  The core of Alamo Squadron membership came from former members of the San Antonio Modelers Society which had disbanded in the mid '70's.  This core group was joined by model enthusiasts from the greater San Antonio area and formed the club now known as Alamo Squadron.


In 1981 Alamo Squadron began hosting an annual contest called ModelFiesta. The show continues to be an annual tradition for Alamo Squadron members and is the longest running annual event in the south-central United States (IPMS-Region 6).


Alamo Squadron has been recognized by the International Plastic Modelers Society for  Chapter of the Year for 1998-1999 under the leadership of Lee Forbes/President, Bob Smith/Vice President and Robert Carr/Secretary/Treasurer and 2004-2005 under the leadership of Tony Ivone/President, Lee Forbes/Vice President and Robert Carr/Secretary/Treasurer. Most recently, in 2016, Alamo Squadron received the recognition of Chapter of the Year for IPMS Region 6.